Ramble, Rides

Maiden Voyage

I think there’s something very childlike in getting a new bike. Perhaps because it only happened once or twice for me; but I swear I must have been grinning like a complete weirdo when they wheeled my new bike through the shop.

First impressions:

  • Wow this is so much lighter than my dutch style bike
  • Actually pink looks pretty good on the bike
  • I definitely need to insure this

So after getting her home and changing the tyres, I got kitted out in my bib shorts, jersey, arm warmers and other assorted cycling goodies. (My new helmet wasn’t in stock, so that will join us at a later date.)

As I’m brand new to road bikes, I’ve opted to stick with normal pedals. I tried clip ins about 2 weeks ago for the first time, with hilariously painful consequences. I’ll go into detail at a later date, but needless to say until I’m happy with using my bike and being on the road in general, I’ll wait to tackle them. I also opted to keep the saddle a little bit lower than probably good for me, as again, I wasn’t 100% comfy with not really being able to touch the floor firmly- especially when cycling near cars. I’ll be booking myself in for a proper bike fit soon once I’m a bit more confident, so I don’t end up crippling myself!

What was supposed to be a quick ‘see how the bike is’ down the road ended up being a 27km ride. Not bad for the first time out! Having used a mountain bike on the road recently I can safely say I noticed a huge difference! So much easier to maintain speed and get going. I did find myself wobbling a bit, I think I’m not quite used to the thin tyres, but I daresay I’ll get there. I also need to work on my turns!

But all in all I had a lot of fun, which is what it’s all about at the end of the day!

IMG_4187.JPG
I promise I’m not sponsored by planetx…
Leave a Reply

